The 147th Open is Upon Us!

That’s right. It’s that time of year again!

Golf fans across the world turn their attention to the UK in anticipation of the 147th Open.

Competing for one of the most prestigious trophies in sport, golf’s best from all corners of the globe have converged in their attempts to attain the Claret Jug (not to mention the £1.42 million that is also awarded to the winner).

This year’s tournament will be held in Carnoustie (Scotland), on the shores of the North Sea, 74 miles north of Edinburgh.

We’re Excited

Like the rest of the country, LifeBook was incredibly excited to see the first group of competitors tee off on Thursday Sandy Lyle (Scotland), Martin Kaymar (Germany) and Andy Sullivan (England) initiating proceedings at 6.35am (GMT).

One of LifeBook’s own will be in Carnoustie to watch the final two rounds and is eager to see who will make the cut. (If they successfully endure the eight-and-a-half-hour journey there, that is!)


Of course, it wouldn’t be an article about a British event if we didn’t discuss the weather. As some of you may know, the UK has been experiencing some fantastic weather recently, thanks to the longest heatwave in 42 years. We very much hope this continues over the remaining days of The Open. Some may even want it to cool down a few degrees.


LifeBook, we’re passionate about heritage, legacy and keeping/setting traditions, so we think it would be fitting to look back through the years at previous winners of this world-renowned title.

Returning Champions

Sixteen previous winners under the age of 60 (Calcavecchia, Cink, Clarke, Duval, Els, Hamilton, Harrington, Johnson, Lehman, Lyle, McIlroy, Mickelson, Oosthuizen, Speith, Stenson and Woods) will be taking to the course on Thursday, with Jordan Speith looking to defend his title, which he won at Royal Birkdale last year.

10 Years Ago (2008)

Padraig Harrington (Ireland) won his second consecutive Claret Jug at Royal Birkdale with a scorecard of 74, 68, 72 and 69.

25 Years Ago (1993)

Greg Norman (Australia) won his second Claret Jug at Royal St George’s with a scorecard of 66, 68, 69 and 64.

50 Years Ago (1968)

Gary Player (South Africa) won his second Claret Jug at Carnoustie with a scorecard of 74, 71, 71 and 73.

80 Years Ago (1938)

Reg Witcombe (England) won his only Claret Jug at Royal St George’s with a scorecard of 71, 71, 75 and 78.

1860, The First Open

Willie Park Snr won the first ever recognised UK Open at Prestwick Golf Club. This was the first of his four UK Open titles (1860, 1863, 1866 and 1875). In 1860, the competition was a three-day event and the course consisted of 12 holes. His winning scorecard was 55, 59 and 60.

Learn more about writing your memoir with LifeBook Memoirs.